PRSSA National Confidence– Opps, I Mean– Conference

This past weekend, I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Indianapolis, Indiana and attend the PRSSA National Conference. For those that don’t know, PRSSA stands for the Public Relations Society of America and their national conference is a chance for aspiring PR students from all over the country to meet and hear from professionals. I just joined my University’s PRSSA chapter at the beginning of this year, but I have already learned so much from it. I was a little hesitant to attend the National Conference just because I just joined PRSSA and I am young and new to the PR world, however, I am extremely glad I decided to go to the conference because it was incredibly beneficial to me.

Deciding to travel four hours to a conference I knew little about, with a group of people I hardly knew was extremely terrifying for me. As I mentioned before, I have social anxieties and I am very uncomfortable in situations where I don’t know many people. Usually I opt out of situations that I don’t know much about, but something within me pushed me to commit to attending the conference and I am very glad I stepped out of my comfort zone for this event.

When I arrived at the conference I discovered I was one of the very fewimg_6069-1 sophomores that were attending; most of the attendees were seniors and juniors. This made me a little uneasy because I felt like i was out of my league and not experienced enough to make connections with those around me. To my surprise, everyone was very friendly and impressed that I was attending the conference so early in my college career. This made me feel a lot more comfortable and I was able to enjoy my trip and experience the conference in a more positive way. I enjoyed connecting with people from my own chapter as well as others from different states. I was able to attend multiple sessions that expanded my knowledge of the PR world and made me excited for my future! Here are some blog posts about some of the sessions included in the conference.

Like I mentioned, I am very grateful I got to experience PRSSA’s National Conference this year, even if I wasn’t very confident in myself going into it. My situation just goes to show that although you might not be confident all the time, pushing yourself out of your comfort zone is immensely important in building confidence and security within yourself. I now know a little more about how professional conferences run and how to act and dress in a professional manner. I am more confident in myself going forward in my life, whether it’s classes or internships, I feel like I am prepared to tackle whatever comes my way!

-Gabi

Picture Credits:

 

Guglielmetti, G. A. (Photographer). (2016). PRSSA National Conference Selfie. [Image of photograph]. Indianapolis, IN; Private collection.

Guglielmetti, G. A. (Photographer). (2016). PRSSA Michigan Chapters. [Image of photograph]. Indianapolis, IN; Private collection.

 

Leave a Reply

