Big City. Bigger Dreams.

blog-collage

For the better part of my life I have always felt insecure or self-conscious while out in public. What do people think of my outfit? Is my hair messed up? If I say what’s on my mind will everyone think I’m stupid? These were the thoughts that constantly filled my brain. If there were too many people at the mall I had to leave. If I didn’t know anyone at a social event I wouldn’t go. My insecurities and social anxieties were like a huge black cloud that hovered over my everyday life. It was dark, it was gloomy and it would never leave. (More about social anxieties and phobias here: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/social-phobia-social-anxiety-disorder-always-embarrassed/index.shtml)

This past August however, something changed when my mom and I took a mini vacation to New York City. Before the trip, I was of course nervous at the thought of encountering so many people. So many eyes would be on me just as I walked down the street, how was I going to be able to enjoy this trip?

At some point during the taxi drive from the Newark Airport to Manhattan however, a new spirit took over me. The whole trip I was confident, secure and no longer concerned with what anyone else thought of what I was wearing, doing or saying. I was so revitalized by this new energy that surrounded me. I did not want to leave!

This story was the inspiration behind this photo I created. I placed me in the center, looking out a window that shows the New York City skyline clearly in view. I hope to live in New York or some other big city at some point in my life. I love the feeling I get when I’m there and most importantly, I love the person I am when I’m there.

A similar story that includes more detail about why New York is such a great place to live is told here: http://www.forbes.com/sites/brianrashid/2015/09/02/why-everyone-should-live-in-new-york-city/#4e4506b55191  . Make sure to check it out!

-Gabi

Picture Citations:

Andritoiu, Mihai. Midtown Manhattan Skyline at Sunrise. 2015. iStock. Google. Web. 13 Sept. 2016. <http://www.newyork.com/articles/attractions/photo-of-the-week-nyc-skyline-     sunrise-79048/>.

 

Guglielmetti, Gabrielle. Window. 2016. Private. Web. 13 Sept. 2016.

Leave a Reply

